Mixed Emotions

In just a few weeks, I leave for my next big adventure: the Disney College Program. Now, this is Part II for me. I had this experience once before, about two years ago in January of 2015. While being apart of DCP Spring 2015 I worked in QSFB (Disney abbreviation for Quick Service Food & Beverage). I was a part of the Sunshine Seasons team in Epcot. sunshineI wore a pretty interesting costume, not much like my previous jobs. But, hey I was in the most magical place in the world wasn’t I? This program was something I would never forget. I met extraordinary people, just like me, in the middle of their college careers and still learning what they wanted. To this day I stay in contact with a few of these people and consider them some of the closest people to my heart.

In April of this year I graduated Oakland University and I decided that I wanted to have this experience just once more; knowing this was the last time I’d be able to. Right away, I applied, I got in, I accepted. I’m going. I leave on August 12th from my home in Michigan and move to Orlando, Florida on August 14th.

This time around things are going to be a bit different, I already know…

On the bright side of things, I have some exciting things to look forward to. When I got my letter of acceptance I was offered a position in Merchandising, a different role than last time. I’m pretty eager to learn more in this position because I’ve worked in retail the past few years and I have grown to love it, so how can I not love it while in Disney World?

Second, during my last program I went in blind with my roommates. Now, don’t get me wrong I ended up with five amazing roommates who made my experience one for the books. roomiesBut, this time around I wanted to meet some friends before I headed down. I joined a Facebook group for the CP’s (College Programers) participating in DCP Fall 2017. I then came in contact with a girl named Natalie. We chatted via FB for a few hours when she asked if I’d like to join a group message with a few other girls that she planned on rooming with. (Of course, I said yes!) Let me just say, I’m thankful I did. These girls welcomed me right in and I adore each of them; and we haven’t even met yet! I’m beyond excited to room with these girls in just a few weeks.

On the other side of things, I’ve got to learn about letting go, again…

fam

I’m going to have to adjust to being away from my friends and family once again. Since I’ve done this before I somewhat know what to expect. But, on the other hand, I’m going during a different time of the year. I’m going to miss a lot during the Fall program in Disney rather than the Spring squad.jpglike last time. I’ll miss celebrating my birthday with my friends and family. I’m missing my niece’s first day of kindergarten and her 6th birthday (and my mom’s birthday). I’m also missing all my favorite holiday’s with everyone; Halloween, Thanksgiving, Friendsgiving, Christmas, and New Years. Can someone explain to me how I’m supposed to deal with all that? Well, let’s just say I’m going to be relying on my roommates, coworkers, and FaceTime A LOT!

The most difficult part of accepting this position is dealing with a long dislaughtance relationship. I’ve been with my boyfriend Sean for almost two years now. He’s been my best friend ever since we started dating. I’ve relied on him for a lot and he has always been there for me. He’s the first person I talk to in the morning and the last person I talk to at night. I’m not too sure how I will adjust learning to be away from him. But, ever since I accepted my offer with DCP he has been giving me endless love and support. He has reassured me that he will be here when I come home, that everything will be just fine, and that I will regret my decision if I chose not to go back to the Disney College Program.

Obviously, this program will be totally different. But, one thing I know for sure is that I will have the time of my life and I won’t regret this experience. I have extraordinary people in my life who have pushed me to follow my heart and push past my emotions. I’ve accepted this role with Disney and I’m ready for the magic to begin, AGAIN!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

